Contact us: Toll-free: 1-800-663-1351, Local: 604-734-4886, Mon-Wed, Sat 10-6, Thurs-Fri 10-9

Charles Mingus - More Than a Fake Book (Score and Parts)

Charles Mingus
In Stock(1)


Charles Mingus was a pioneer figure in modern jazz. Besides being a virtuoso bass player who played with the top jazz musicians for four decades, he was also an accomplished pianist, bandleader and composer who recorded more than 100 albums and wrote more than 300 original and innovative scores. This incredible collection explores Mingus' background and prestigious career as well as 55 of his pieces. The stories behind each song are given and accompanied by notes on how Mingus played the piece. Mingus photos, anecdotes, quotes and an extensive discography fill this volume that collectors will treasure. A truly personal work that celebrates the genius within this jazz legend. Songs include: Fables of Faubus • Sue's Changes • Better Get Hit in Your Soul • Weird Nightmare • and more.

Song List:

  • Better Get Hit In Your Soul Charles Mingus
  • Blue Cee
  • Boogie Stop Shuffle Charles Mingus
  • Canon Pachelbel J
  • Celia Charles Mingus
  • Devil Woman Mingus
  • Diane Alice's Wonderland Charles Mingus
  • Dizzy Moods
  • Duke Ellington's Sound Of Love
  • Duke's Choice
  • E's Flat Ah's Too
  • East Coasting
  • Ecclusiastics Charles Mingus
  • Eclipse Charles Mingus
  • Fables Of Faubus Charles Mingus
  • Farewell Farwell
  • Free Cell Block F Tis Nazi Usa Charles Mingus
  • Goodbye Pork Pie Hat Charles Mingus
  • Haitian Fight Song Charles Mingus
  • Hora Decubitus Charles Mingus
  • I Of Hurricane Sue The
  • Jelly Roll Charles Mingus
  • Jump Monk Charles Mingus
  • Man Who Never Sleeps
  • Moanin' Charles Mingus
  • Monk Bunk And Vice Versa
  • My Jelly Roll Soul
  • Nobody Knows The Bradley I Know
  • Noddin' Ya Head Blues Charles Mingus
  • Nostalgia In Times Square Charles Mingus
  • Nouroog
  • O Lord Please Don't Let Them Drop That Atomic Bomb On Me Charles Mingus
  • O.p. Oscar Pettiford Charles Mingus
  • Open Letter To Duke
  • Open Letter To The Avant Garde
  • Opus Four Charles Mingus
  • Opus Three
  • Orange Was Color Dress Blue Silk
  • Peggy's Blue Skylight Charles Mingus
  • Pithecanthropus Erectus Charles Mingus
  • Portrait Charles Mingus
  • Pussy Cat Dues Charles Mingus
  • Reincarnation Of A Lovebird Charles Mingus
  • Remember Rockefeller At Attica Charles Mingus
  • Scenes In The City
  • Self-Portrait Self Portrait In Three Colors Charles Mingus
  • Slippers Charles Mingus
  • Slop
  • So Long Eric
  • Sue's Changes Charles Mingus
  • Tonight At Noon
  • Us Is Two
  • Wednesday Night Prayer Meeting
  • Weird Nightmare Charles Mingus
  • What Love
  • Work Song Oscar Brown Jr. Nat Adderley Cannonball

Additional Information:

Publisher: Hal Leonard
Catalogue Number: 00673220
Northwest Product Number: 112-1313-00-001

  1. Northwest Music does not guarantee the accuracy of online stock levels. To confirm availability of an item, please contact our store directly.
  2. While we will do our best to ensure you receive the quantity you indicate, if the quantity ordered exceeds our current stock levels, your order may take additional time to complete. Please contact Northwest Music to confirm availability. Some items, such as choral octavos, have a set minimum purchasing quantity.
  3. The sound and page samples we provide on our website are courtesy our publishers, who provide the samples in different ways. Audio samples are MP3 files, and will either load in your browser or will prompt you to download and open them in an application of your choice (such as iTunes or Windows Media Player). Page samples are in either JPG or PDF format, and can open in your browser, or in Adobe Acrobat Reader.